Main Banner

For more information about each site, click on the site name

CTFS Plot Location Country Collaborating Institution Contact Information Rainfall (mm) Dry Season (months)
Africa
Ituri Dem. Rep. of Congo Centre de Formation et de Recherche en Conservation Forestiere (Dem. Rep. Congo), Wildlife Conservation Society (USA) Dr. Corneille E.N. Ewango corneilleewango@gmail.com
Dr. Terese Hart terese@bonoboincongo.com
Dr. Jean-Remy Makana jeanremymakana@gmail.com
1700 3-4
Korup Cameroon World Wide Fund for Nature, Cameroon; University of Buea, Cameroon Dr. Duncan Thomas duncanwt@gmail.com
Dr. David Kenfack kenfackd@si.edu
Dr. George Chuyong Chuyong99@yahoo.com
5272 3
Rabi Gabon Smithsonian National Zoological Park Dr. Alfonso Alonso alonsoa@si.edu
Dr. Pulcherie Bissiengou bissiengou_p@yahoo.fr
Mr. Hervé Memiaghe memiagheh@hotmail.com
0
Mpala Kenya The Mpala Wildlife Foundation; Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute; Kenya Wildlife Service; National Museums of Kenya Dr. Paul Mutuku Musili pmutuku@museums.or.ke
Dr. David Kenfack KenfackD@si.edu
0
Ngel Nyaki Nigeria Nigerian Montane Forest Project University of Canterbury, New Zealand Chester Zoo, United Kingdom Dr. Hazel Chapman hazel.chapman@canterbury.ac.nz
Ms. Iveren Abiem abiem.iveren@yahoo.com
Dr. David Kenfack KenfackD@si.edu
1800
Asia
Bukit Timah Singapore National Institute of Education / Nanyang Technological University (Singapore), Singapore National Parks Board, Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University (USA) Dr. Lee Sing Kong
Dr. Shawn Lum shawn.lum@nie.edu.sg
2473
Doi Inthanon Thailand Osaka City and Utsunomiya Universities (Japan), Kasetsart University (Thailand), Royal Thai Forest Department, Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University (USA) Dr. Mamoru Kanzaki mkanzaki@kais.kyoto-u.ac.jp 1908 6
Fushan Taiwan Taiwan Forestry Research Institute, Tunghai University (Taiwan), Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University (USA) Dr. I Fang Sun ifsun@gms.ndhu.edu.tw
Dr. Chang-Fu Hsieh tnl@ntu.edu.tw
4067
Huai Kha Khaeng Thailand Royal Thai Forest Department, Kasetsart and Mahidol Universities (Thailand), Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University (USA) Dr. Sarayudh Bunyavejchewin silvic35@forest.go.th
1474 6
Lambir Malaysia Sarawak Forest Department; Osaka City, Ehime, & Kyoto Universities (Japan); Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University (USA) Mr. Sylvester Tan tansylvester@outlook.com
Dr. Stuart Davies daviess@si.edu
Dr. Takuo Yamakura yamakura@sci.osaka-cu.ac.jp
Dr. Akira Itoh itoha@sci.osaka-cu.ac.jp
2664
Mudumalai India Indian Institute of Science, Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University (USA) Dr. Raman Sukumar rsuku@ces.iisc.ernet.in 1250 6
Nanjenshan Taiwan Tunghai University (Taiwan), Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University (USA) Dr. Chao, Wei Chun wcchao@mail.ncyu.edu.tw
3582
Palanan Philippines Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University, Biodiversity Management Bureua’s Department of Environment and National Resource (Philippines), Conservation International (Philippines), Local Government of Palanan (Isabela), Isabela State University (Philippine Dr. Perry Ong ongperry@yahoo.com
Dr. Sandra L. Yap slimyap@gmail.com
5000 4-5
Pasoh Malaysia Forest Research Institute Malaysia, National Institute of Environmental Studies (Japan), Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University (USA) Dr. Christine Fletcher cdfletch@frim.gov.my
Dr. Abdul Rahman Kassim rahmank@frim.gov.my
1788 1
Sinharaja Sri Lanka Uva Wellassa University, University of Peradeniya Dr. Sisira Ediriweera <ediriweera2007@gmail.com> 0
Khao Chong Thailand Royal Thai Forest Department, National Institute of Environemtal Studies (Japan), Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University (USA) Dr. Sarayudh Bunyavejchewin silvic35@forest.go.th
Dr. Stuart Davies daviess@si.edu
0
Xishuangbanna China Xishuangbanna Tropical Botanical Garden, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Institute of Botany, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Chinese Forest Biodiversity Monitoring Network Dr. Cao Min caom@xtbg.ac.cn 1493
Mo Singto Thailand Thai National Park, Wildlife and Plant Conservation Department; Thai Ministry of Natural Resources and Environment; National Center for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (Thailand); National Science and Technology Development Agency (Thailand) Dr. Warren Y. Brockelman wybrock@cscoms.com
Dr. Anuttara Nathalang anut@biotec.or.th
2200 5
Changbaishan China Institute of Botany, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Chinese Forest Biodiversity Monitoring Network; Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University (USA) Dr. Zhanqing Hao hzq@iae.ac.cn 700
Gutianshan China Institute of Botany, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Chinese Forest Biodiversity Monitoring Network; Earthwatch Institute; Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University (USA) Dr. Mi, Xiangcheng mixiangcheng@ibcas.ac.cn
Dr. Yu Mingjian
1963
Dinghushan China South China Botanical Garden, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Institute of Botany, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Chinese Forest Biodiversity Monitoring Network; Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University (USA) Dr. Wanhui Ye why@scib.ac.cn 1985
Lienhuachih Taiwan Taiwan Forestry Research Institute, Forestry Bureau-Council of Agriculture (Taiwan), Tunghai University (Taiwan) 0
Danum Valley Malaysia Aberdeen University (UK), The Royal Society SEARRP (UK/Malaysia), University of Zurich (Switzerland), Sabah Foundation (Malaysia) Dr. David Burslem d.burslem@abdn.ac.uk
Dr. Glen Reynolds glen.searrp@me.com
Prof. Andy Hector andrew.hector@plants.ox.ac.uk
0
Kuala Belalong Brunei Darussalam Universiti Brunei Darussalam; Brunei Forestry Department; Arnold Arboretum, Harvard University Dr. Kamariah Abu Salim kamariah.salim@ubd.edu.bn
Dr. Stuart Davies daviess@si.edu
5203 0
Hong Kong China Hong Kong University, The Kadoorie Institute Dr. Billy Hau chhau@hku.hk 0
Tiantongshan China East China Normal University Dr. Xihua Wang xhwang@des.ecnu.edu.cn 1551
Donlingshan China Institute of Botany, Chinese Academy of Sciences Dr. Weiguo Sang wsong@iccas.ac.cn 570
Nonggang China Guangxi Institute of Botany, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Institute of Botany, Chinese Academy of Sciences Dr. Xiankun Li xiankunli@163.com 0
Heishiding China Sun Yat-sen University Dr. Fangliang He fhe@ualberta.ca 173 October to March
Hainan China Research Institute of Tropical Forestry, Chinese Academy of Forestry Dr. Han Xu hanxu81@gmail.com
Prof. Yide Li liyide@126.com
Prof. Shirong Liu liusr@caf.ac.cn
Prof. Fangliang He fhe@ualberta.ca
1305 November to April
Badagongshan China Wuhan Botanical Garden, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Chinese Forest Biodiversity Monitoring Network Dr. Mingxi Jiang mxjiang@wbgcas.cn
2105
Baotianman China Institute of Botany, Chinese Academy of Sciences Dr. Xiaojun Du xjdu@ibcas.ac.cn 885
Baishanzu China Dr. Zhengrong Luo zrluo@126.com 2341
Daxinganling China Chinese Academy of Sciences; Institute of Botany, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Chinese Forest Biodiversity Monitoring Network Dr. Ni Hongwei 458
Bidoup Vietnam Nui Ba National Park, Vietnam Truong Hong Luu <hongtruongluu@gmail.com/lhtruong@sie.vast.vn> 1750
Europe
Wytham Woods UK Oxford University (UK), Centre for Ecology and Hydrology (UK), Earthwatch Institute Dr. Mike Morecroft michael.morecroft@naturalengland.org.uk
Dr. Yadvinder Malhi yadvinder.malhi@ouce.ox.ac.uk
Dr. Nathalie Butt n.butt@uq.edu.au
0
Zofin Forest Dynamics Plot Czech Republic Natural Forest of the Czech Republic Laboratory of Environmental Microbiology, Institute of Microbiology of the CAS Environmental Measuring Systems – EMS Brno Silva Tarouca Research Institute Faculty of Forestry and Wood Technology, Mendel Universit Dr. Tomas Vrska Tomas.Vrska@vukoz.cz
Dr. Kamil Kral Kamil.Kral@vukoz.cz
0
Speulderbos Netherlands Wageningen University, the Netherlands Dr. Jan den Ouden Jan.denouden@wur.nl
Dr. Patrick Jansen Patrick.Jansen@wur.nl
800 0
Traunstein Germany Chair for Forest Growth and Yield, Technische Universität München, Freising, Germany (H. Pretzsch) Department of Ecological Modelling, Helmholtz Centre for Environmental Research UFZ, Leipzig, Germany (A. Huth) Microwaves and Radar Institute, German A Dr. Hans Pretzsch
Dr. Andreas Huth Andreas.Huth@ufz.de
Dr. Konstantinos P. Papathanassiou
0
Latin America
Barro Colorado Island Panama Panama Canal Authority, University of Georgia Dr. Richard Condit conditr@gmail.com
Dr. Stephen Hubbell shubbell@eeb.ucla.edu
Dr. Robin Foster rfoster@fieldmuseum.org
2551 3
La Planada Colombia Instituto de Investigacion de Recursos Biologicos "A. Von Humboldt" Natalia Norden nnorden@humboldt.org.co
Mr. Mauricio Alvarez malvarez@humboldt.org.co
4084
Luquillo Puerto Rico University of Puerto Rico (USA), US Forest Service Dr. Jess Zimmerman jesskz@ites.upr.edu
Dr. Jill Thompson jiom@ceh.ac.uk
Dr. Maria Uriarte mu2126@columbia.edu
3548
Yasuni Ecuador Pontificia Universidad Catolica del Ecuador, Estacion Biologica Yasuni, Herbario QCA (Ecuador), University of Aarhus (Denmark) Dr. Renato Valencia lrvalencia@puce.edu.ec 3081
Manaus Brazil Brazilian National Institute for Amazonian Research (INPA) Dr. Alexandre de Oliveira aaoliveira@ib.usp.br
Dr. Alberto Vicentini vicentini.beto@gmail.com
2600 5
Amacayacu Colombia Universidad Nacional de Colombia Sede Medellin, Parques Nacionales Naturales de Colombia, Instituto Amazonico de Investigaciones Cientificas SINCHI Dr. Dairon Cárdenas dcardenas@sinchi.org.co
Dr. Alvaro Duque ajduque@unal.edu.co
3000
Sherman Panama CTFS / Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute Dr. Richard Condit conditr@gmail.com 2700
Cocoli Panama CTFS / Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute Dr. Richard Condit conditr@gmail.com 1950
Ilha do Cardoso Brazil Universidade de Sao Paulo Dr. Alexandre de Oliveira adalardo@usp.br 2100 0
North America
SERC: Smithsonian Environmental Research Center USA Smithsonian Environmental Research Center, Earthwatch Institute Dr. Geoffrey Parker parkerg@si.edu
0
SCBI: Smithsonian Conservation Biology Institute USA Smithsonian National Zoological Park Conservation Biology Institute Dr. William McShea mcsheaw@si.edu
Dr. Norm Bourg bourgn@si.edu
Dr. Kristina Anderson-Teixeira teixeirak@si.edu
0
Haliburton Forest Canada University of Toronto (Canada) Dr. Sean Thomas sc.thomas@utoronto.ca
Dr. Michael Drescher mdrescher@uwaterloo.ca
0
Wabikon Lake Forest USA University of Wisconsin-Green Bay (USA), US Forest Service Dr. Amy Wolf wolfa@uwgb.edu
Dr. Robert Howe hower@uwgb.edu
Mr. Gary Fewless fewlessg@uwgb.edu
805
Yosemite National Park USA University of Washington (USA), US National Park Service, University of Montana (USA) Dr. James A. Lutz james.lutz@usu.edu
Dr. Andrew Larson andrew.larson@cfc.umt.edu
1065 3-4
Wind River USA University of Washington (USA), University of Montana (USA), US Forest Service Dr. James Lutz james.lutz@usu.edu
Dr. Andrew Larson andrew.larson@cfc.umt.edu
2495 3-4
Harvard Forest USA Dr. David Orwig orwig@fas.harvard.edu 0
Santa Cruz USA University of California Santa Cruz (UCSC) Dr. Gregory Gilbert ggilbert@ucsc.edu 0
Lilly Dickey Woods, Indiana USA Indiana University Dr. Keith Clay clay@indiana.edu
Dr. Richard Phillips rpp6@indiana.edu
Dr. Dan Johnson djj4tree@gmail.com
1016
Tyson Research Center, Missouri USA Washington University in St. Louis Dr. Jonathan Myers jamyers@wustl.edu 0
Scotty Creek Forest Dynamics Plot Canada Dr. Jennifer Baltzer jbaltzer@wlu.ca
Dr. Rajit Patankar rajitpatankar@gmail.com
0 No dry season
Michigan Big Woods USA University of Michigan Dr. John Vandermeer jvander@umich.edu
Dr. David Allen dallen@middlebury.edu
Dr. Christopher Dick cwdick@umich.edu
76
UMBC: University of Maryland, Baltimore County USA Department of Geography and Environmental Systems, University of Maryland Baltimore County, Baltimore, Maryland, USA Dr. Erle C. Ellis ece@umbc.edu
Dr. Matthew Baker mbaker@umbc.edu
0
Utah Forest Dynamics Plot USA Utah State University (USA), US National Park Service Dr. James A. Lutz james.lutz@usu.edu 0
Oceania
Palamanui USA University of Hawaii (USA); US Forest Service; University of California, Los Angeles (USA) Dr. Christian Giardina cgiardina@fs.fed.us
Dr. Rebecca Ostertag ostertag@hawaii.edu
Dr. Susan Cordell scordell01@fs.fed.us
Dr. Lawren Sack lawrensack@ucla.edu
Dr. Faith Inman finman@hawaii.edu
1000
Laupahoehoe USA University of Hawaii (USA); US Forest Service; University of California, Los Angeles (USA) Dr. Christian Giardina cgiardina@fs.fed.us
Dr. Rebecca Ostertag ostertag@hawaii.edu
Dr. Susan Cordell scordell01@fs.fed.us
Dr. Lawren Sack lawrensack@ucla.edu
Dr. Faith Inman finman@hawaii.edu
4000
Wanang Papua New Guinea Arnold Arboretum of Harvard University, STRI, Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History, University of Minnesota, University of Papua New Guinea, PNG Forest Research Institute, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic Dr. George Weiblen gweiblen@umn.edu
Dr. Vojtech Novotny novotny@entu.cas.cz
2000